top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureconsumingstarwars

The Old Republic


With the High Republic in full swing and the prospect of it slowing down is nowhere is sight, I have been delving into another era of Star Wars goodness that I’m sure many love, miss, or dream of a revival.


I don’t know what possessed Lucasfilm to go back in time to nearly four thousand years before the events of A New Hope, but my goodness I am glad they did.


The expansive Old Republic Era in Legends is absolutely brilliant.


It would be grand it there was a revisit to The Old Republic era in Canon, its so rich with possibility. I daresay Lucasfilm is going to remain very focused on The High Republic for the time being, and as excited as I’m sure many would be for a revivial, I am doubtful we will get it.


My consumption of them has not really extended to the games as yet because, regrettably, the format and gameplay is a little too challenging for me, though I am hoping to change that.


I have, however, now read all the books and a large chunk of the comics by John Jackson Miller and they are most impressive.


The short viewers are thus:


Revan: Really nicely written story, the first I read of Karpyshyn, and I was very impressed. Knowing little bits and pieces of the Knight of the Old Republic story certainly helped, I daresay this is the story that is the least accessible should you not know the general story of at least the first game. But that aside it is a really nice standalone story.


Deceived: Definitely my favourite of the Old Republic novels. I’ve only listened to the audiobook once, but I found Darth Malgus’ story incredibly compelling. I often don’t like when the story strays into the villains territory, despite loving Star Wars villains, but this one is second to none. I’d go further to say that this s in my top five Star Wars novels.


Red Harvest: Struggled a bit with this, which I found disappointing because I really enjoyed Death Troopers for which this serves as a prequel. Like the other two novels below, I struggle to remember a great deal of what happened throughout.


Fatal Alliance: My goodness, this book was confusing. The way it jumps from one story to the other is either brilliantly Star Wars because of the way it just throws you into the world, or terrible because not enough gets explained... maybe its not the book, but me as the reader. Point is, lots of characters, lots of subplots, and I found it a little hard to follow.


Annihilation: Again, I can’t remember a great deal of this book, but what I do remember is that I really enjoyed it. I shouldn’t have written about these books without a revisit... oh well... here we are.


Which brings me to what I really wanted to write about:


The Old Republic Comics.


I have read the three Epic Collections Marvel released in recent years and found that it was really well done. There is bunch of character driven humour, an excellent plot and no shortage of action.


If you haven’t read them yet, you really should get onto it.


Previously I have questioned “what makes Star Wars, Star Wars?” The Old Republic at times feels as though it could have been its own creator owned series, with an intriguing story, great world building, but at the same time it fits within the mythos of Star Wars beautifully.


This series introduces us to Zayne Carrick. Zayne isn’t great at being a Jedi Apprentice and he gets framed for the murder of his fellow apprentices by their own masters. Shock! Horror!


Now. Once you get over the fact that Zayne is a bit of a klutz, a little inept, and not the brightest young man in Star Wars, yet he can escape several Jedi Masters, Commanders of Republic Fleets, and disreputable elements, this is a roller coaster ride of fun, fun fun.


Zayne meets up with a number of characters who come and go as the story dictates, he gets caught up in events much larger than his own existence, and comes out of it a much stronger man.


Not atypical for any story, of course, but there is something about this comic series that is extremely endearing, and I can’t help but think it has a lot to do with Zayne.


Zayne ran from the Jedi Order because they betrayed him, accused him, and abandoned him in his time of great need. Yet, he continues to be a man who continues to be the embodiment of what I always imagined a Jedi should be.


Though he wields his lightsaber, he does his very best to not cause harm and to choose a non-violent path. Zayne is willing to search for and implement ideas which work best for both parties in a battleground, even under threat of death. Zayne is just... good.


Once Zayne is exonerated from his crimes, I think the series becomes a little less compelling, but is one of the best Star Wars comic series I have read so far.


With one more Epic Collection in The Old Republic series to go, it has made me quite excited to explore the Legacy era of Star Wars.


May the Force be with you.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page